BSO Sessions Episode 23: Locally Made

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Wednesday, April 21, 2021
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Release Date: 4/21/2021

BSO Sessions episodes begin with a virtual performance premiere at 8 pm, followed by on-demand access through June 2021 ($9.99 pay-per-view and $19.99 monthly all-access). Customer support is provided by the BSO Ticket Office. Contact by email at or by phone at 877-276-1444.
The works of nationally and internationally renowned composers from the Baltimore-D.C. area take center stage in this dynamic episode that opens with Jonathan Leshnoff’s visceral “Miller-Kahn” Quartet. Baltimore-born Philip Glass’ entrancing work contrasts with the intensely sorrowful Lyric for Strings by George Walker, the first Black composer to win the Pulitzer Prize for Music. Also featured are Duke Ellington’s “Come Sunday;” Kevin Puts’ Arcana; and the world premiere of Ubuntu, composed by the BSO’s own Brian Prechtl.

Nicholas Hersh, conductor
Jonathan Rush, conductor

JONATHAN LESHNOFF String Quartet No. 3 for String Orchestra, “Miller-Kahn”, Mvt. II and III
PHILIP GLASS “Runaway Horses” from Mishima
ELLINGTON (arr. Jensen) “Come Sunday”
WALKER Lyric for Strings
BRIAN PRECHTL Ubuntu (World Premiere)