BSO Sessions Episode 25: Music and the Human Spirit

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Wednesday, May 12, 2021
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Release Date: May 12, 2021

BSO Sessions episodes begin with a virtual performance premiere at 8 pm, followed by on-demand access through June 2021 ($9.99 pay-per-view and $19.99 monthly all-access). Customer support is provided by the BSO Ticket Office. Contact by email at or by phone at 877-276-1444.

About the Performance
Music has the power to evoke feeling and move the human spirit. Nicholas Hersh leads the BSO in a program of both spiritual and liturgical works. Vaughan Williams’ Five Variants of “Dives and Lazarus” is written for harp and strings and based on an English folk tune. Copland wrote his Fanfare for the Common Man in response to the U.S. entry into World War II. The program concludes with three works that have religious roots. Bruckner’s Ecce sacerdos magnus and Purcell’s Funeral Music for Queen Mary represent the Christian spirit and Bruch’s Kol Nidrei, meaning “All Vows”, consists of a series of variations on two main themes of Jewish origin.

Nicholas Hersh, Conductor
Dariusz Skoraczewski, Cello

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Five Variants of “Dives and Lazarus”
COPLAND Fanfare for the Common Man
BRUCKNER Ecce sacerdos magnus
PURCELL Funeral Music for Queen Mary
BRUCH (arr. Ribke) Kol Nidrei
Program subject to change.