BSO Sessions Episode 26: Bells, Keys, and Reeds

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - Wednesday, May 19, 2021
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Release Date: May 19, 2021

BSO Sessions episodes begin with a virtual performance premiere at 8 pm, followed by on-demand access through June 2021 ($9.99 pay-per-view and $19.99 monthly all-access). Customer support is provided by the BSO Ticket Office. Contact by email at or by phone at 877-276-1444.

About the Performance
Winds return to the stage in a performance of light and airy works featuring a series of Serenades from Mozart, Dvořák, and Strauss. The first two movements of Mendelssohn’s Nocturno for Winds, a chamber work consisting of 11 wind players, opens the episode. French composer Darius Milhaud wrote the Little Symphony No. 5, a chamber piece for winds with a distinctive jazz-inspired modality.

Nicholas Hersh, Conductor
Jonathan Rush, Conductor

MENDELSSOHN Nocturno for Winds, Mvt. I and II
MOZART Serenade No. 10, Mvt. III
DVOŘÁK Serenade for Winds, Mvt. IV
STRAUSS Serenade in E-flat Major
MILHAUD Little Symphony No. 5
DVOŘÁK Serenade for Winds, Mvt. I
Program subject to change.