Har Sinai Presents Einhorn Award Honorees


Har Sinai Congregation recognized this year’s Rabbi David Einhorn Award recipients — Dr. Robert Brookland, David and Marilyn Carp, Rabbi Floyd and Barbara Herman, Rabbi Edward Israel (posthumously) and Howard and Judith Kahn­ — at an awards ceremony and dessert reception on June 8. The award recognizes families and individuals who exemplify Jewish values, show outstanding leadership or achievement within the congregation or community or contribute significant service, personal resources and support to the congregation.

The award’s namesake, Rabbi David Einhorn, born in 1809, gave voice to his ideals for human equality, spiritual commitment and study of Torah. In addition to serving as Har Sinai Congregation’s first rabbi and helping to found Reform Judaism in America, he published a prayer book that became the model for the Union Prayer Book in 1894.

Never miss a story.
Sign up for our newsletter.
Email Address


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here