Hopkins Names Faculty to Patient Safety Academy


In a new effort to eliminate harm and reinforce a culture of caring in health care, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing faculty members Ellen Ray, Cynthia Foronda and Brigit Van Graafeiland have been chosen to serve in the third cohort of the Johns Hopkins Armstrong Institute Patient Safety and Quality Leadership Academy.

A program launched to connect health systems and transform the clinical health care setting, the Academy will give 33 Johns Hopkins scholars the opportunity to propose, plan and lead a sustainable, multidisciplinary patient safety or quality improvement project while evaluating its effectiveness on patient outcomes.

“The Academy will bring accountability, continuity and inter-professional collaboration to the table,” said Melinda Sawyer, the academy’s program co-director and the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality’s assistant director of patient safety. “The scholars, including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, technologists and others will incorporate teamwork and focus on advancing care through every discipline.”

Never miss a story.
Sign up for our newsletter.
Email Address


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here